Under Pennsylvania law, all Pennsylvania motor vehicle owners must maintain vehicle liability insurance on a currently registered vehicle. But what happens if you get pulled over and don’t have it? Kalinoski Law Offices explains what happens when you are caught driving uninsured in Pennsylvania.
PA Insurance Law & Driving Uninsured
As a responsible driver in Pennsylvania, you must have vehicle liability insurance that covers any property damage or injuries that you may cause to others in the event of a car accident.
However, if there is a lapse in insurance coverage, the results can be damaging. Such penalties include suspension of your vehicle registration privilege for three months, fines, and a restoration fee. See their breakdown:
- A minimum of $300 fine for driving uninsured.
- A three-month suspension of your vehicle registration.
- A three-month suspension of your driver’s license.
- A restoration fee to restore your vehicle registration.
- A restoration fee to restore your driver’s license.
- A restoration fee to restore your commercial driver’s license.
- The vehicle may not be driven by anyone while the registration is suspended.
But there are exceptions. For example, if the lapse of insurance was for a period of fewer than 31 days and you can prove the vehicle was not being operated during the lapse in coverage, you may be exempt from penalties.
What is required if I face license suspension?
Should you be caught driving without insurance, you must submit your registration plate, card, and drivers’ license to PennDOT in order to serve the suspension. In addition, you must pay the restoration fee and submit proof of insurance before your driving eligibility will be restored.
Should you not want to serve a license and registration suspension, you do have other options under Vehicle Code 1786 (d)(1.1) to pay a $500 civil penalty instead. You are still required to pay a restoration fee to PennDOT in accordance with Section 1960 of the Vehicle Code.
Remember, you cannot take a civil penalty more than once in a 12-month period. So, if you are caught driving uninsured multiple times, you may only pay the $500 once and still face license suspension.
What Does Motor Vehicle Insurance Cover?
In Pennsylvania, liability coverage will provide insurance in the following amounts:
- $5,000 for damage to property of another person
- $15,000 for injury or death of one person in an accident
- $30,000 for injury or death of more than one person in an accident
While you may think that insurance isn’t needed, it’s not only critical to protect you in case of an accident, but it also ensures that you are able to legally use your vehicle.
Remember, the fines associated with an uninsured driver charge may not seem so large, but when you need a vehicle every day to get to work, take care of your family, etc., the cost can be damaging.
If you have been faced with a charge of driving uninsured, know that you have options and Kalinoski Law Offices can help.
Speak With a Knowledgeable Wilkes-Barre, Scranton Uninsured Driver Lawyer Today
Our firm will review the facts of your driving uninsured case and answer your questions during a free, no-obligation initial consultation. Being experienced in vehicular matters, our office is more than willing to help.
Attorney Craig Kalinoski will provide you with a straightforward assessment and recommend the best steps to take. Call 570-207-4000 or use our contact form today to schedule an appointment.